Fulton County Logo
Contact the County
Workforce Investment Act Program banner

FC Home What is WIOA? What is a Service Delivery Area (SDA)?

What is a Service Delivery Area (SDA) | Print |

WIA allows for Automatic Designation of Service Delivery Areas (SDA’s) in Section 116 Article 2 which states: “The Governor shall approve any request for determination as a local area from any unit of general local government with a population of 500,000 or more.  

In Georgia, there are 12 State Service Delivery Regions and 20 local Workforce Investment Act (WIA) service delivery areas. In each of the 20 local areas there is a local Workforce Investment Board responsible for designing local One-Stop workforce systems that are employer-led, demand-driven, customer-friendly, and continuously improving. Each area has at least one comprehensive or full-service One-Stop Center providing a wide range of workforce services.


There are twenty (20) Service Delivery Areas in the state of Georgia. There are five (5) Metro Service Delivery Areas - Atlanta Regional Commission (ARC), City of Atlanta, Cobb County, DeKalb, and Fulton County. (make sentence before hypertext to link to the service delivery area listing also attached the document that says local WIA location listing))

NOTE: Fulton County strongly encourages customers to receive services in the county in which they reside.  Our priority of funding is given to those who first live in Fulton County and/or has been laid off in Fulton County.


Local WIA Service locations.


Translate This Page

WIOA Am I Eligible