Fulton County Logo
Contact the County
Government banner

Fulton County Awarded Funding Through Federal Second Chance Act | Print |

Fulton County has been granted approximately $749,000 from the U.S. Department of Justice as a part of the federal Second Chance Act. The monies will be used to fund a program designed to reduce recidivism. Fulton County is among 166 organizations in the U.S.  – and one of only 17 counties – that will receive Second Chance Act funding this year.

The grant was developed by the Fulton County Reentry Taskforce, headed by Fulton County Chairman John H. Eaves, with support from key justice system officials, including District Attorney Paul Howard, Sheriff Ted Jackson, Superior Court Chief Judge Cynthia Wright, Public Defender Vernon Pitts, and state agencies including the Georgia Department of Corrections, the Georgia Department of Pardons and Paroles, and  the Georgia Department of Labor. Nonprofit and education partners include the Atlanta and Fulton County School systems, the United Way of Metropolitan Atlanta, the Georgia Justice Project, Atlanta Metropolitan College and the Atlanta Technical College, Community Voices and the Morehouse School of Medicine.

By reducing recidivism, the Taskforce hopes to help inmates reclaim their lives, help the community with improved public safety, and help save taxpayer dollars.  The Fulton County criminal justice system cost taxpayers approximately $221.9 million for 2010.  Inmates released back to Fulton County from the state prison system have a 47% recidivism rate.

Inmates selected to participate in Fulton County’s Second Chance Project will receive assistance while they are in the Fulton County Jail and for 18 months after their release. The services provided by the program will focus on helping participants change their behavior.

"Our Second Chance grant award validates the process we have undertaken -- to bring everyone to the table to identify the best ways to address the public safety challenges we all face in Fulton County,” says Fulton County Commission Chairman John Eaves.



Translate This Page

Fulton County BOC Public Notices
One Fulton Blog
Anti bullying in the workplace banner