Fulton County Logo
Contact the County
Visitors banner

About Fulton County | Print |

Fulton County was formed from DeKalb County in 1853, and then consolidated with Milton and Campbell Counties in 1932. That's why it has such an unusual, elongated shape. Of Georgia's 159 counties, Fulton County was the 144th to be created.

The Fulton name honors Robert Fulton, the inventor who built the Clermont, the first commercially successful steamboat, in 1807.

Fulton Map Image

Natural Resources
Fulton County lies in north-central Georgia in the foothills of the Appalachian mountains. The warm southern climate produces plentiful hardwood and pine forests, making the area a beautiful place to live.

Fulton County encompasses 528.7 square miles, and stretches over 70 miles from one end to the other. North Fulton includes the cities of Sandy Springs, Alpharetta, Roswell, and Mountain Park. South Fulton includes the suburban cities of College Park, East Point, Fairburn, Hapeville, Palmetto, City of South Fulton and Union City. The City of Atlanta lies between them.

The Chattahoochee River, the source of drinking water for most of Fulton County, is one of the smallest water sources in the country relative to the size of the population it supports. The "Hooch" runs out of the north Georgia mountains, bringing with it plentiful trout. For more information on Fulton County, click here.

More About Fulton County

Fulton County Snapshot (Georgia Department of Community Affairs)

The New Georgia Encyclopedia: Fulton County

Fulton County Related Links (The University of Georgia's Carl Vinson Institute of Government)

Fulton County Census Fact Sheet (U.S. Census Bureau)





Translate This Page

Fulton County Strategic Plan 2016-2019 minibanner
Fulton Films
Locate your Senior Center

Did you know that a person who is not a Law Enforcement Officer can apply for a Criminal Misdemeanor Arrest Warrant against another person? 

Customer Service

One Fulton Blog
A-Z Service Guide banner